Dilbert is truth

Why do the Dilbert cartoons matter?

Often, technology professionals like myself like to charge through our day at the workplace with purpose and intent.  In many cases, we spout out cliches, expressions and industry buzzwords to match what we believe will be proof of our abilities to be successful.  It is grounded in our good intent, and we might  think we are doing something valuable, or contributing something meaningful to the organizations that we serve.  After all, we all believe in our work as individuals and believe the work we attempt to accomplish with others will be genuine.

Then, if you’re like me, we read a Dilbert cartoon like this one.

Dilbert-TabletInnovation 

You are instantly deflated.  You know the characters because you work with them everyday.  You sight with Dilbert because your manager just doesn’t “get it”.

But for me, the only reason I look at Dilbert or even want to look at Dilbert is because it is truth.  It is refreshing truth.  It brings me back to the place where I know that my kids are more important than work.  A place where feeling good about me doesn’t have to be exclusively associated with my job.  A place where the opportunities to improve your self-worth at work are more rare than to improve my lifestyle or my family life.  The truth is freedom from stress and pressure of the day-to-day nonsense we often encounter.  Thanks, Dilbert, for helping us recognize our truth.

Leave a Reply

